Michelle Isenhoff

Annals of Alasia Series, by Annie Douglass Lima

Over the summer, I started this series by reading the last book. I didn’t do it intentionally; I just didn’t research very well when the title was recommended to me. After I read it (and loved it–my review is here), I realized that the three books in the series stand alone. They can be read in any order, lucky for me. But the really unique thing is, they all describe the same events from three completely different perspectives. I love it! First let me briefly revisit book three. Then I’ll get to one and two.
Prince of MalornIn Prince of Malorn, Korram, the crown prince of Malorn, is only months away from his 18th birthday. But he fears the regent who came to power when his father died will not want to stand down when he comes of age. In fact, he fears for his life. To protect himself, Korram travels to the Impassable Mountains to raise an army from the people group who lives there. But his actions come too late. In Korram’s absense, the wicked regent invades their peaceful neighbor, Alasia.
in the enemy's serviceIn book two, In the Enemy’s Service, the focus changes to Anya, a young Alasian girl who is stolen from her home and forced to work in the castle where the invading Malorn forces have their headquarters. The king and queen are dead, but Prince Jaymin has escaped. In the hope that the prince can eventually reclaim his kingdom, Anya becomes a spy, walking a dangerous line to gather intelligence that is passed through the marketplace. But one Malorian soldier knows more about Anya and her family than he should.
prince of alasiaBook one, Prince of Alasia, shifts (or should I say starts) with Prince Jaymin and the awful day his kingdom is attacked. We learn how he makes his escape, where he hides, and the details of his involvement that finally brings him face to face with Prince Korram. The story comes full circle, filling in those final answers. Of course, had I read the series in the correct order, wrapping up with Prince Korram’s activities would serve the same purpose of fitting the last pieces in order. They’d just be different last pieces.
I highly recommend this series for its clean, crisp prose, a fabulous story, and the totally unique way in which three sides of the same tale are portrayed. I judge these at about a fifth grade independent reading level, though they’d make excellent read-aloud adventures for second or third graders. The series never gave me incredibly high or low emotions, but it did deliver solid, steady entertainment. A job well done. It’s my honor to award Bookworm Blather’s highest recommendation, a Squeaky Award to each individual title. Squeaky Award
Grab your own copy here:
Book 1–Prince of Alasia
Book 2–In the Enemy’s Service
Book 3–Prince of Malorn

Annals of Alasia Series, by Annie Douglass Lima

4 thoughts on “Annals of Alasia Series, by Annie Douglass Lima

Comments are closed.

Scroll to top